If you’ve been injured in an accident and are considering hiring an attorney, you may be wondering how much personal injury lawyers make per case. This is an understandable concern, since your accident likely left you with mounting expenses. Knowing what a personal injury attorney may cost can help you plan for the future and get a clearer picture of what to expect from your claim.

What Does a Personal Injury Attorney Do?

Personal injury lawyers handle cases like truck accidents, car accidents, wrongful death, and more. When someone else’s negligence or recklessness caused you injury or damage, a personal injury attorney can help you seek the compensation you need for your recovery. You may be awarded compensation for the following:

  • Past medical bills
  • Future medical expenses
  • Property damage
  • Lost wages
  • Pain and suffering

Personal injury attorneys in Georgia often charge on a contingency fee basis, which means no upfront fees are required. When a settlement or verdict is reached, the attorney will take their legal fee from the compensation awarded to their client. In other words, if personal injury attorneys do not win their clients’ cases, they do not receive any payment for their representation.

How Much Can a Personal Injury Lawyer Charge in Georgia?

The Georgia Rules of Professional Conduct state that lawyers cannot charge or collect a fee that is unreasonable. The Rules use the following criteria to decide if a fee is reasonable:

  • The complexity of the case
  • The customary fee charged for similar services
  • The experience and reputation of the attorney
  • How much time the attorney will need to dedicate to the case

The type of fee schedule is also important, so whether the payment structure is a fixed fee or a contingency fee will matter in deciding reasonableness. If your personal injury attorney uses a contingency fee system, make sure you read and understand the agreement before signing. You can ask questions about the fee, especially if you’re unsure how much the personal injury lawyer will make at the end of your case.

What is the Average Cost of a Georgia Personal Injury Lawyer?

An average cost is difficult to calculate because of the contingency fee structure and varying amounts of compensation awarded in personal injury cases. So, how much do personal injury lawyers make per case? The average contingency fee is 33%—35% for cases resolving before litigation, and 40%—45% for cases resolving after a lawsuit is filed. However, the total dollar amount per case will depend on the amount of compensation awarded.

For example, a contingency fee of 33% would equal $8,250 in an injury case worth $25,000, but that same 33% fee would total $49,500 in a case worth $150,000. That’s a big difference, so it’s important to understand how much your case could be worth before calculating the cost of a personal injury lawyer.

Skilled Personal Injury Lawyers Make Recovery Simpler

A contingency fee structure is intended to make the personal injury claim process easier for you by lessening financial stress and making high-quality legal representation more accessible. At Flanagan Law, we pride ourselves on listening to our clients and providing a supportive experience throughout their injury case. If you want an individualized analysis of your case, contact us to schedule a free consultation.

Free Case Consultation